Ipc White

About the IPC

Learning Goals

The learning goals are the foundation on which the International Primary Curriculum is built. The IPC provides children with subject goals, personal learning goals, and uniquely, international learning goals, and these are defined for each age phase:

Ages 5-7
Milepost 1
Ages 7-9
Milepost 2
Ages 9-11
Milepost 3

Subject Goals

Subject goals cover the knowledge, skills and understanding of children relating to the subjects they are learning. There are subject learning goals for Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, ICT & Computing, Technology, History, Geography, Music, Physical Education, Art and Society.

2014 11 24 Wclany R 1536

Personal Goals

Personal goals underpin the individual qualities and dispositions we believe children will find essential in the 21st century. There are 8 IPC Personal Goals - enquiry, resilience, morality, communication, thoughtfulness, cooperation, respect and adaptability. Opportunities to experience and practice these are built into the learning tasks within each unit of work.

2014 11 24 Wclany R 0216

International Learning Goals

International learning goals are unique to our curriculum and help young children begin the move towards an increasingly sophisticated national, international and intercultural perspective. Each thematic IPC unit includes an international aspect, to help develop a sense of ‘international mindedness’.

2014 11 24 Wclany R 1445
To learn more information about the IPC...

Units of Learning

We know that children learn best when they want to learn. That's why all of the IPC's thematic units of learning are designed to appeal to children’s interests and help them to learn more about the world around them.

Themes include Who Am I?, The Magic Toymaker, Buildings, Chocolate, Active Planet, Young Entrepreneurs, Mission to Mars,and What Price Progress.

Themed units help children to see how subjects are both independent and interdependent. This enables them to see the big picture of their learning, make connections across different subjects, and talk about a topic from multiple perspectives.


We believe that differentiating between knowledge, skills and understanding is crucial to the development of children’s learning.

Skills cannot be assessed by tests and they can’t reliably be assessed in one single assessment. They need time, practice, and a consistent and simple process to support both teachers and learners. This is where the IPC Assessment for Learning Programme will help you.

The Assessment for Learning Programme provides:

  • Assessment for learning in nine subjects: Art, Geography, History, ICT & Computing, Music, Physical Education, Science, Technology and International.
  • Assessment at each milepost - 5-7 years, 7-9 years and 9-11 years.
  • Three developmental stages of assessment from ‘beginning’ to ‘developing’ and ‘mastering’.
  • Success criteria (or ‘rubrics’) for teachers to help identify the learning stage of each skill in each subject at each age phase.
  • Similar success criteria for children, written in language that’s easy for them to read and follow. These help children take an active role in the assessment of their own learning.
  • Specific teaching and learning advice with practical activities to help children improve their learning
  • Advice on the implementation process which explains clearly how and when to use the assessment programme
  • A dedicated online assessment tracking tool - delivered in partnership with Classroom Monitor - to keep paperwork to a minimum and ensure your assessments are accurate and that progression can be tracked over time, analysed to make improvements and reported to parents, care givers and guardians.
2014 11 24 Wclany R 1075 2014 11 24 Wclany R 0216
Request more information about the IPC…