Wednesday 9 December 2015

Announcing our first joint accreditation visit with CIS

Primary accreditation

We are pleased to announce our first joint IPC accreditation visit with the Council of International Schools (CIS).

The first IPC/CIS accreditation visit took place at Franconian International School, Germany in October of this year. The accreditation team, comprising of members from both Fieldwork and CIS, used a joint protocol to assess the school and collaborated fully throughout the process.

Jane Denby, Head of Accreditation at Fieldwork explains why the two organisations were a natural complement:

“We share a similar ethos. CIS look at the whole school with a greater emphasis on looking at governance and leadership, staffing, premises and operational systems, for example, and we overlap looking at teaching and assessing for learning, school guiding statements and international mindedness.”

Discussions began regarding the possibility of arranging joint accreditations back in 2011. CIS is recognised as the accreditation agency of choice for many international schools and their community of more than 660 schools includes a large crossover with IPC member schools.

“We are delighted that the first joint IPC/CIS accreditation visit went so well and we are very much looking forward to working with our colleagues at Fieldwork on future visits,” commented Stuart McLay, Associate Director, School Support and Evaluation, CIS. 

The final accreditation reports remain separate, but by aligning the evaluations schools are able to reduce the administrative load and also synchronise on-site visits, keeping the time external evaluators are onsite to a minimum.

Giving children wider audiences to share their learning is always something we are striving for. The IPC/CIS visit gave even further opportunity for our children share what they are so very proud of and how they have achieved their goals."

Tom Egerton,
Director, Franconian International School

Additional joint accreditation visits have already been planned for 2016 and 2017.